Chess: Bitoon tops Pangasinan Chess Festival

April 8, 2011 12:57 am 

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan, April 7 — International Master Richard Bitoon topped the 2nd Gov. Amado T. Espino Cup Chess Tournament open category, which formed part of the Pangasinan Chess Festival, held April 4 at the Provincial Library here.

Bitoon, who hails from Cebu, preserved his unbeaten slate with a draw in the final seventh round with last year’s champion IM Oliver Barbosa to win the title with 6.5 points and the top prize of P15,000.

IM Barbosa wound up second runner-up but shared the honor and the pot money for second to fifth placers at P6,250 each with Prince Mark Aquino of San Nicolas, Pangasinan; FIDE Master Haridas Pascua, and IM Chito Garma, all with 6 points.

Jan Emmanuel Garcia, IM Oliver Dimakiling and NM John Alcon Datu were in sixth to eighth places at 5.5 points and received P1,333 each.

On the other hand, Giovanni Mejia of La Salle Greenhills dominated the National Age Group championship category, earning him his second Espino Cup title and the top prize of P4,000

John Jasper Laxamana and Ramil Rabanera were close runners-up with 5.5 points and received P1,000 each.

Special prizes went to Samantha Glo Revita of Rosales who won the Top Lady prize; while National Master Alexander Milagrosa bagged the Top Senior prize.

Prince Mark Aquino, FM Haridas Pascua and Dick Gicain received P1,000 for being the Top 3 Pangasinan players entered in the tournament.

Highlighting the tournament were some games of the local players against notable masters. IM Oliver Dimakiling was held to a draw by Marc Donald Castillo in the second round while Ely John Estabillo halved the point with NM Barlo Nadera.

Asia’s first International Master Rodolfo Tan Cardoso of Alaminos who served as the consultant of tournament, graced the chest fest.

The 2nd Amado T. Espino Jr. Cup Chess Tournament was conducted by the Pangasinan provincial government, in coordination with the Pangasinan Chess Federation.

It was one of the highlights of the Pangasinan Day (Agew na Pangasinan) that commemorated the 431st founding anniversary of the province. (PNA)



Comments are closed.