Aquino swears in more gov't officials

April 4, 2011 10:32 pm 

MANILA, April 4 — President Benigno S. Aquino III swore in newly-appointed government officials in various government agencies, both in the civilian and military service.

In simple ceremonies on Monday at the Rizal Ceremonial Hall of Malacanang, the Chief Executive administered the oath of office to retired Gen. Ricardo David as Acting Commissioner of the Bureau of Immigration (BI) under the Department of Justice (DoJ).

Also sworn into office is Lt. Gen. Eduardo Oban Jr. as the new Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), replacing David as AFP head.

Before his assumption into office as Acting Commissioner of the Bureau of Immigration, David spent over 30 years in the military service. He was the commander of the Northern Luzon Command, an AFP unit that oversees the security and preserves the peace in the communities of North and Central Luzon.

David is the 27th BI Commissioner from the year 1940 to the present.

The Bureau has the sole authority to enforce and administer immigration and alien registration laws, including the admission, registration, exclusion, deportation and repatriation of aliens. It also supervises the immigration into and emigration from the Philippines of aliens.

Born in 1955 in San Fernando, Pampanga, David graduated from the Philippine Military Academy in 1977. He began his illustrious military career as a second lieutenant in the Philippine Army.

The new AFP chief, Gen. Oban, hails from Castilla, Sorsogon and is a graduate of Philippine Military Academy (PMA) belonging to PMA Class “Matapat” of 1979. He served as Director for Operations of the 5th Fighter Wing of the Philippine Air Force (PAF). He finished his master’s degree in Business Economics from the University of Asia and the Pacific in 2005.

Oban is the third Chief of Staff to come from the Air Force since 1996. He also played a major role in the negotiation with Magdalo rebels involved in the Oakwood mutiny in 2003. He assumed AFP’s top post on March 7, 2011

Other officials sworn into office were Erwin Chua Andaya, Commissioner, representing Visayas, of the National Youth Commission (NYC), Office of the President (OP); Georgina P. Nava, Commissioner, representing Luzon, NYC-OP; Earl P. Saavedra, Commissioner, representing Mindanao, NYC-OP; Percival V. Cendaña, Commissioner-at-Large, NYC-OP; Nora C. Oliveros, Deputy Executive Secretary for Finance and Administration, OP; Fernando L. Mesa, Assistant Director-General, National Security Council Seretariat, OP; Ofelia Arellano-Marquez, Chairperson, Central Board of Assessment Appeals of the Department of Finance; Alfredo Tolentino Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Works and Highways; Ester A. Aldana, Assistant Secretary, Department of Interior and Local Government, and Nelson Acebo, Commissioner of the Presidential Commission on Good Government.

Also part of the list of newly-promoted military officials include Vice-Admiral Alexander P. Pama, Flag- Officer-in-Command of the Philippine Navy (PN); Lt. Gen. Arthur I. Tabaquero, Commander, EastMinCom; Rear Admiral Orwen J. Cortez, VC, Philippine Navy; MGen. Ramiro A. Alivio, TNIG, PN; MGen. Elmir S. Dela Cruz, DCS for AFP-CEIS J6; MGen. Romulo M. Bambao, C, Isafp; MGen. Nonato Alfredo T. Peralta Jr., Superintendent, Philippine Military Academy (PMA); Rear Admiral Edgar L. Abogado, CNS,PN; BGen. Mariano A. Veloria, Comdr, 53 EBDE, Philippine Army (PA); BGen. Samuel L. Narbuada, ADCS for Intelligence; BGen. Alex N. Albano, Comdr, AresCom, PA; BGen. Arnolfo Atendido, ADC, 7ID, PA; Commodore Isabelo H. Gador, Chief, OLA; Commodore Geronimo L. Aganon, DC, NASSCOM; BGen. Ramona P. Go, ADCS for PERS, J1; Commodore Caesar C. Taccad, Comdr, NFNL, PN; BGen. Maximo G. Caro, Comdt, CCAFP, PMA; BGen. Lito S. Tabangcura, Cmdr, AFPResCom, and Commodore Wenefredo B. Banua, Chairman, PN BAC. (PNA)



Comments are closed.