Pigeon racing:Chua rules Catbalogan lap as first two-time winner

March 9, 2011 1:31 am 

MANILA, March 7 — Luis Chiu is the solo winner in the fourth lap of the PHA 2011 South Race in Allen, Samar last February 27.

Kerby Chua became the first two-time winner in the Philippine Homing Pigeon Association (PHA) when he ruled 2011 South Race's fifth lap held in Catbalogan, Samar last March 6 to 7.

Chua’s grizzle hen out of Jos Thone cross Hagens bloodline with PHA band no. 10-1018201 made a speed of 1082.40 meter per minute to rule the centerpiece Young Birds category for the second time in five tries.

Paquito Ngo’s blue bar cock out of Van Den Broucke with PHA-10-1017072 finished second overall, while Jay Paul de Vera’s blue bar cock of Vyverman cross Bekaert strain banded PHA -10-1017949 wound up third.

Another Ngo’s entry finished fourth, followed by Kenneth Cheng’s bird in fifth.

Also making it to the Top 10 list in the Young Birds category which attracted 92 birds from 43 lofts are Renato Tiu, Derrick Choi, Jonathan and Ian, Rey So and Jerby Chua.

In the Old Birds category, Henry Tan edged Cham Tian Seng and Benito Go Que for top honors.

Tan’s PHA-08-0620401, a grizzle hen out of Thomas Peeters cross Van Den Broucke / Vyverman, clocked 1250.370 meter per minute to beat 47 other birds rom 21 lofts.

Cham finished second with his PHA-10-1023232, a blue bar hen out of Van Den Broucke cross Dewit Van Bunderen strain, while Que came in third with his PHA-09-0212338, a blue bar hen from his own old lines.

The other top finishers in the Old Birds category are Johnso Si, Burlington Loft, Harry Lau, Benito Go Que, Jose Torres, Harry Lau and Rey So.

The Catbalogan lap marked the second time that Chua emerged as the winner in the Young Birds category.

Chua also dominated the second lap in Legazpi City, Albay last Feb. 13 with his blue checque white flight hen out of Jos Thone cross Desmet Mathijs bloodline with band no. PHA -10-1018698 .

Chua also won once in the Old Birds category during the third lap in Matnog, Sorsogon last Feb. 20.

PHA president Jaime Lim said the sixth lap will be held in Tacloban, Leyte on March 19, while the seventh and final lap will be staged in MacArthur, Leyte on March 20.

Nelson Chua is the racing chairman.

The previous four winners in the PHA South Race were Tommy So (Young Birds) and Ruddy Tan (Old Birds) in the first lap held in Naga City last Feb. 6; Kerby Chua ( Young Birds) and Cham Teng Hui ( Old Birds) in the second lap in Legazpi City last Feb. 13; and Augusto Celis III (Young Birds); Kerby Chua (Old Birds) in the third lap in Matnog, Sorsogon last Feb. 20.; and Luis Chiu in the rain-marred fourth lap in Allen, Samar last Feb. 27.

The PHA was founded in 1960.

The members of the PHA Board of Trustees are Paul Ung, Chan Teng Hui, Peter Yap, Victor Ocampo Tan, Jaime Lim, Chan Tian Seng, Harry Sy, Edward Tan and Rey So. (PNA) scs/LOR/pr


Comments are closed.