SCUAA: Hostilities go full blast Tuesday in Isabela

February 21, 2011 11:14 pm 

ILAGAN, Isabela, Feb. 21 — Hostilities in the 2011 SCUAA National Olympics go full blast on Tuesday (February 22) at the Melanio Singson Sports Complex in Ilagan, Isabela with more than 5,000 athletes and officials taking part in 14 sporting events.

Action begins at exactly 7 a.m.

A total of 109 state universities and colleges in 16 regions all over the country are represented in this prestigious, week-long competition organized by the Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC) and hosted by the provincial government of Isabela.

On Monday, Isabela Gov. Faustino “Bogie” Dy III formally welcomed the participants who will compete in 14 sporting events, namely, athletics, badminton, baseball, basketball chess, dancesports, football, lawn tennis, sepak takraw, softball, swimming, taekwondo, table tennis and volleyball.

Also launched is the “Search for the Miss SCUAA 2011 which will be held to determine the country’s representative to the coming Miss University World in Seoul, South Korea.

The SCUAA beauty contest is scheduled at 6 p.m. Tuesday at the FLDY Coliseum.

“The 2011 SCUAA National Olympics is a good vehicle for the tertiary students to participate in sports competitions. It will also enable the outstanding athletes from all over the country to show their skills and talents and someday represent the country in international sports competitions,” said PASUC president Dr. Lauro B. Tacbas.

Tacbas is being assisted in the running of the event by Dr. Roger Perez, president of the Cagayan State University-Tuguegarao City and secretary-general of the 2011 SCUAA National Olytmpics, and Dr. Romeo R. Quilang, president of the host Isabela State University and PASUC vice-president for Luzon.

Fellowship nights hosted by Vice Gov. Rodito Albano, Ilagan Mayor Jay Diaz and Cauayan Mayor Ben Dy will also be held from February 23 to 25.

The Parokya ni Edgar will be the featured artists during the Athletes Night on February 24.

The championships, as well as the awarding and closing ceremony, will be held on Feb. 26.

The participating regions are National Capital Region, Cordillera, Ilocos, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, Southern Tagalog, Bicol, Western Visayas, Central Visayas, Eastern Visayas, Zamboanga/Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), Northern Mindanao, Southern Mindanao, Central Mindanao and CARAGA.

One of the leading delegations is the 375-strong Western Visayas contingent.

Led by PASUC Region VI chairperson and Aklan State University president Dr. Benny A. Palma, the Western Visayas athletes are favored in basketball, football, softball, swimming and volleyball events.

Western Visayas emerged as the overall champion when the Palarong Pambansa was last held in Ilagan, Isabela in 1993. (PNA) DCT/scs/LOR/PR


Comments are closed.