President Aquino to distribute relief goods to Sulu flood victims

February 11, 2011 12:47 pm 

JOLO, Sulu, Feb. 10 — President Benigno S. Aquino III will visit Jolo, Sulu on Friday to distribute relief goods to an estimated 300 victims of the flash floods in two municipalities and six barangays at the provincial capitol here.

The President will be accompanied to Jolo by Secretaries Voltaire Gazmin of National Defense, Corazon “Dinky” Soliman of Social Welfare and Development and Jesse Robredo of Interior and Local Government.

During his visit, the President will be briefed on the recent flash floods that struck the province. The briefing, which will be held at the Governor’s Conference Room, will be presided by Gazmin as chairman of the National Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council, DND Undersecretary Benito Ramos, who is also administrator of the Office of Civil Defense and Sulu Governor Abdusakur Tan.

Considered the first phenomenon in the province, the flash floods followed two days of storm surges last February 1 and 2, which prompted Jolo Mayor Hussin Amin to declare a state of calamity in the entire municipality last February 4 to help the affected barangays utilize their calamity funds.

Affected by the flash floods were two municipalities, namely, Jolo and Patikul and six barangays in the province of Sulu.

After the briefing, the President will motor to the expansive multi-purpose gymnasium where some 300 of the more than 2,000 flood victims will be waiting to receive relief goods from the DSWD.

Some parts of Jolo are still under flood water since rains normally come at 8 p.m. everyday but no longer the magnitude of a surge, according to local residents here.

Invited to attend the briefing and the distribution of relief goods are the local officials of Jolo, Indanan, Patikul, Talipao, H.P. Tahil, Maimbung, Lugus, Parang, Pata, Pandami, Pangutaran, Omar, R. Caluang, Estino, Panamao, Tapul, Luuk and Siasi.

Also expected to attend are congressmen Habib Tupau Loong (1st district) and Nur Ana Sahidula (2nd district) of Sulu along with Vice Gov. Benjamin Loong with the members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan ng Sulu. (PNA)



Comments are closed.