Aquino swears in EDSA People Power Commission officials

February 4, 2011 12:28 pm 

MANILA, Feb. 3 — President Benigno S. Aquino III swore in the officials of the Edsa People Power Commission (EPPC) tasked to promote the ideals of the bloodless and the very first people power revolution in the country.

In simple mass oath taking rites at the Premier Guest House of the Palace on Thursday, the President led the new officials led by its chairman, Executive Secretary Paquito “Jojo” Ochoa, Jr. in taking their oath of office to formally assume their respective positions at the EPPC.

Other members of the Commission who took their oath of office include actor-singer-composer Ogie Alcasid, advertiser Emily Abrera, Christopher Carrion, Milagros Kilayko, former Trade Secretary Jose Pardo, and former Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) chairman Cesar Sarino.

Executive Order No. 82. (s. 1999) created the EDSA People Power Commission to institutionalize the legacy of the EDSA People Power Revolution, rooted in the same spirit that brought Filipinos to freedom a century ago.

As a dedicated organization, the EPPC was established specifically to institute appropriate means, activities and concerted action that will serve to enshrine EDSA People Power as a continuing and permanent source of inspiration for future generations.

EDSA People Power was a historic uprising in February 1986 that toppled the decades-old Marcos regime and catapulted Corazon “Cory” Aquino, the President’s mother, to the presidency that time.

On December 22, 2010, President Aquino issued Executive Order No. 17, which streamlines the role of the commission and whittled down the number of its members from 25 to just seven.

Earlier, American book author Stephen Mansfield paid a courtesy call to the President to express support to his administration and the programs being implemented for the people.

The New York Times bestselling author and popular speaker Mansfield, who is also an evangelical leader, was accompanied by his wife Beverly and some evangelical leaders of the Victory Church of the Philippines.

The religious leaders include Bishop Emmanuel Carlos, Bishop J. Raymund Mora, Bishop Jonel Milan, Pastor Ferdinand Cabiling, Pastor William Steven Murrell, Anastacio Escosar, Jr., and former Guam Governor Felix Camacho.

During the call at the Yellow Room also at the Premier Guest House, Pastor Mansfield presented two of his best-selling books to the Chief Executive as gifts, namely, the “Pope Benedict XVI, His Life and Mission” and “The Faith of George W. Bush." (PNA)



One Response to “Aquino swears in EDSA People Power Commission officials”

  1. Aquino swears in EDSA People Power Commission officials : | P'NOY - Noynoy Aquino News on February 6th, 2011 3:53 am

    […] google_ad_width = 336; google_ad_height = 280; 3 — President Benigno S.Here is the original post: Aquino swears in EDSA People Power Commission officials : google_ad_client = "pub-8552023011774911"; /* 336×280, created 1/16/11 */ google_ad_slot = […]