Three senior officers nominated to head new Zambo police station

January 15, 2011 2:34 am 

ZAMBOANGA CITY, Jan. 14 – Three senior police officials are in the short list of nominees to be the first commander of the Central Police Station that will be created in this southern port city, a top police official disclosed Friday.

Zamboanga City Police Office (ZCPO) director Sr. Supt. Edwin de Ocampo said the creation of the Central Police Station is in line with the resolution adopted by the City Peace and Order Council (CPOC) during its session held last Monday.

De Ocampo named the nominees as: Supt. Albert Larubis, chief of the Police Station 7; Supt. Hado Edding, Police Station 9 chief; and, Supt. Diomarie Albarico, chief of the Zamboanga City Public Safety Company.

De Ocampo said the short list of nominees was already submitted to Mayor Celso Lobregat, who is empowered to choose among them as stipulated under Republic Act 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991.

The Central Police Station will have jurisdiction over the 16 barangays within the city proper.

The creation of the Central Police Station is aimed at lessening the tasks of De Ocampo who has been acting as the station commander and in charge of the traffic, patrol, and investigation divisions and others as well as the 16 barangays within the city proper.

The CPOC said in its resolution that the different divisions will be under the new station commander of the Central Police Station giving De Ocampo ample time to supervise the entire 11 police stations under the ZCPO with the creation of the new command.

De Ocampo will still hold office at the second floor of the ZCPO headquarters while the ground floor will be occupied by the new command–Central Police Station.

However, The CPOC stated in its resolution that upon the activation of the Central Police Station the Police Station 11 in Sacol Island will be deactivated and converted into a Community Police Action Center (COMPAC) to be able to meet with the allowable requirements of 11 police stations per highly-urbanized city.

The COMPAC in Sacol Island, 54 kilometers east of this city, will be placed under the jurisdiction of the Police Station 4 located in Barangay Culianan, 13 kilometers east of this city.

The personnel and all the equipment of Police Station 11 will however remain once it is converted into COMPAC.

De Ocampo said that there is no definite date yet set by the CPOC as to when will the Central Police Station be activated. (PNA)



Comments are closed.