De Lima assigns task forces to 3 DOJ undersecretaries

December 23, 2010 2:02 pm 

MANILA, Dec. 23 – Department of Justice (DOJ) Secretary Leila De Lima has delegated task forces to the DOJ's three undersecretaries and authorized them to sign resolutions, or cases on automatic review for and in behalf of the DOJ head.

In Department Circular No. 93 issued by De Lima, Undersecretary Jose Vicente Salazar was assigned to the task forces on Anti-Trafficking in Persons and Oil Deregulation.

Undersecretary Francisco Baraan III was assigned to the task forces on Anti-Illegal Drugs, Anti-Smuggling (RATS or Run After The Smugglers), Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) Cases (RATES or Run After the Tax Evaders), Financial Fraud, Securities and Business Scam, and Human Rights and Extra-legal Killings.

On the other hand, Undersecretary Leah Tanodra-Armamento was assigned to the Task Forces on Anti-Intellectual Property Piracy, Anti-Money Laundering, Legacy Group Cases, and Anti-Terrorism.

However, Secretary De Lima will be the sole signatory in all resolutions in motions for reconsideration from resolutions issued by the three undersecretaries.

It was noted that the order will not diminish the authority of the DOJ secretary to directly act on all petitions for review, or appeals from, or automatic review of, the resolutions of Prosecutor General Claro Arellano arising from the said task forces.

The order takes effect immediately. (PNA)



Comments are closed.