Aquino cites NDCP role in leadership formation

September 4, 2010 10:49 am 

MANILA, Sept. 3 – President Benigno S. Aquino III on Friday commended the important role of the National Defense College of the Philippines (NDCP) in the training and formation of new leaders, policy makers, and military officers against the challenges of internal and international security threats.

The President made the commendation during the conferment ceremony for the NDCP’s 22 new graduates in Master in National Security Administration (MNSA) at the Ceremonial Hall of Malacanang.

In his speech, the President said the NDCP, for the past 47 years, had contributed to the formation of the country’s leaders who are tasked to strengthen national security.

“As a nation, we have a duty to defend the state and insulate it from both national and international security threats. To achieve this, we need leaders who possess the skill and abilities to make the right decisions in tough and unexpected situations,” he said.

The President said the unfortunate hostage-taking incident last week “was a wake up call for our security agencies.”

“The hostage situation revealed our deficiencies in providing the tools and training needed by our police force to ensure the safety of our people and that of foreign nationals who visit the Philippines,” he said.

The President said NDCP, which was established to produce graduates who can respond quickly in times of crisis, has an important role in preventing similar incidents from happening.

He said his administration will fully support NDCP programs to produce more quality graduates as the continuing partnership between the government and the private sector can achieve so many things in bringing peace, security and progress to the whole nation.

The President led the distribution of diplomas to the new MNSA graduates composed of military officers, as well as career civil servants and leaders from the private sector.

The new MNSAs are Lt. Col Arnfin Arce (Philippine Air Force), Khan Bin Mohamad Khan Ayub (Royal Malaysian Air Force), Medardo Deacosta Jr., Tai Peng Ee (Royal Malaysian Navy), Mariciel Estacio, Col. Ramon Estela (Philippine Army), Elvira Flores, Dr. Franklin Gali, Victor Mendoza, Lt. Col Conrado Sadsad (Philippine Army), Edna Salaguban, Bayani San Juan, Kenneth Santos, Robert Simon, Commander Rudyard Somera (Philippine Coast Guard), Capt. Ibrahim Umaru (Nigerian Air Force), Venicius Villasenor, Supt. Alejandro Yanquiling (Philippine National Police), and Francis Raymund Martin Yulo.

The three outstanding graduates who also received special awards were Christine June Carino (Academic Excellence Award), Norman Biola (Leadership Award) and Aiza Alzate (Best Thesis). (PNA) vcs/PCOO/utb


Comments are closed.