Ebdane takes oath as new Zambales governor

July 1, 2010 5:16 am 

IBA, Zambales, June 30 — Former Public Works and Highways Secretary Hermogenes Ebdane Jr. on Wednesday took his oath of office here as the seventh governor of Zambales province before a huge crowd of political supporters and community officials here.

The mass oath-taking ceremony was held at the ground pavilion of the provincial capitol here.

Ebdane, who won by a landslide in the May 10 first automated election, was sworn into office by Regional Trial Court (RTC) Judge Josefina D. Farrales.

In his inaugural address, Ebdane challenged Zambales officials, as well as his fellow Zambalenos, to rally to the call for change and progress, reminding them that the development of the province is everyone’s concern.

“Six months of going to the grassroots, listening, interacting, sharing my vision and understanding the needs of our provincemates, have come to this. We are now tasked with bringing the change that has been delayed. And with the resounding response to my invitation to work with me for a new Zambales, we stand here today, victorious and ready. Ready to lead, ready to serve, ready to work together for change that will make a difference to every Zambaleno,” Ebdane said.

He invited his provincemates to become pro-active citizens of Zambales to work together with him, regardless of political party affiliation.

“Now that we have made a stand for change, we must stand together as one Zambales,” he added.

Ebdane said his administration will focus on prioritizing the fast-trackked program for development on tourism, agricultural programs, and other environmental concerns.

“Panahon na ng pagkakaisa (It is time to unite). We have one agenda: change for development in Zambales. We have one goal, One Zambales, productive, progressive, pro-active,” he added. .

A political neophyte, Ebdane ran in the recent election against veteran politician Amor Deloso, who first served as OIC governor in 1986 and later won four terms, sitting as elected governor in 1988 to 1998 and again in 2007 to 2010.

Ebdane received a total of 125,202 votes against Deloso’s tally of 96,112, edging out the four-term governor by a total of 29,090 votes.

Likewise, Vice Governor Ramon Lacbain III and the 10 Sangguniang Panlalawigan board members were sworn into office by Judge Consuelo Bocar.

Twelve out of the 13 mayors of the province and a total of 104 Sangguniang Bayan councilors took their oath before the newly elected governor. (PNA)



Comments are closed.