Eight Lanao del Sur towns to hold special polls soon

June 7, 2010 7:06 pm 

MANILA, June 7 – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) on Monday said that eight municipalities in Lanao del Sur will also conduct special elections.

Comelec Commissioner Gregorio Larrazabal said special elections would be held in the municipalities of Buadiposo Buntong, Kapai, Marantao, Calanogas, Ganassi, Lumbatan, Pagayawan and Tugaya.

The eight towns failed to hold the country's first automated national and local elections on May 10 due to security reasons.

The poll body has yet to announce the date of the special polls.

Larrazabal said the elections in the said places would not affect the national canvassing, including that for presidential and vice presidential candidates.

However, it will affect the party-list polls.

Special elections were held in seven towns in Lanao del Sur last June 3. (PNA) RMA/FGP/utb


Comments are closed.