’We do not want koala bear in the joint committee'– Enrile

May 24, 2010 8:06 pm 

By Jelly F. Musico

MANILA, May 24 – Senate president Juan Ponce Enrile said on Monday that the joint congressional canvass committee will not entertain any bears, including a certain Robin or known as ‘koala bear’ who alleged that the May 10 polls were manipulated.

”We do not want bears, whether it’s koala, or polar, or brown bear, or black berries,” Enrile said in media interview before the start of the Senate session to approve its nine-man panel in the joint congressional canvass committee.

Enrile said complaints of cheating will be forwarded to the Presidential Electoral Tribunal.

”But we will hear them to want extent those cheating affected the results of the election,” he said.

The Senate and the House of Representatives, convening as the national board of canvassers for presidential and vice presidential election, formed a special joint committee that will canvass the certificates of canvass (COCs) of president and vice president beginning on Tuesday afternoon.

Enrile said they might allow to spend the first two days to hear the explanations of the officials from the Commission on Elections, the TIM-Smarmatic and other people about the reports of failed precinct count optical scan (PCOS) machines.

”The purpose is to clear everything so that we can proceed with the canvass expeditiously,” said Enrile who along with House speaker Prospero Nograles will serve as co-chairmen of the joint committee.

With this idea, Enrile expects the formal canvassing to start on Wednesday.

”Hopefully, Wednesday, we’ll start. We are ready because there are many certificates of canvass that are not in contention,” he said.

During the resumption of session, the Senate approved the nine-man panel composed of Enrile, Majority Floor Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri, Minority Leader Aquilino Pimentel Jr., senators Joker Arroyo, Rodolfo Biazon, Alan Peter Cayetano, Gregorio Honasan, Edgardo Angara and Bong Revilla.

The alternate members are senators Francis ‘Kiko’ Pangilinan, Lito Lapid, Pia Cayetano and Jinggoy Estrada.

Last week, the House of Representatives named its own nine-man panel composed of House Speaker Prospero Nograles as chairman, majority leader Arthur Defensor, minority leader Ronaldo Zamora, senior deputy majority leader Neptali Gonzales II, senior deputy minority leader Roilo Golez, Representatives Crispin Remulla, Didagen Dilangalen, Matias Defensor, and Michael John Duavit.

Enrile expects proclamation of the next president and the vice president in two weeks time. (PNA) RMA/jfm


Comments are closed.