Comelec proclaims 9 senators-elect

May 15, 2010 11:02 pm 

By Ferdinand G. Patinio

MANILA, May 15 – The Commission on Elections (Comelec), sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC), proclaimed on Saturday the initial nine winners in the senatorial race in the just concluded May 10 national polls.

In a formal ceremony at the national canvassing center, held at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), the newly elected senators are Ramon "Bong" Revilla Jr. (Lakas-Kampi CMD), Jinggoy Estrada (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino), Miriam Defensor-Santiago (People's Reform Party), former Senate President Franklin Drilon (Liberal Party), Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino), Pia Cayetano (Nacionalista Party), Rep. Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. (Nacionalista Party), former senator Ralph Recto (Liberal Party) and former senator Vicente "Tito" Sotto III (Nationalist People's Coalition).

Revilla initially got the highest number of votes with 18,218,514. He was accompanied by the members of his family including his wife, Lani Mercado, who also won in the Congressional race in Cavite, hometown of the Revilla's.

The proclamation of the winning senatorial candidates was conducted as they got enough votes incapable of being surmounted through the remaining uncanvassed provincial Certificates of Canvass (PCoCs) from the May 10 polls.

Based on the latest NBoC tally (11am, May 15), Revilla is still on top, followed by Estrada (17,722,162); Defensor-Santiago (16,066,001); Drilon (14,770,612); Enrile (14,695,263); Cayetano (12,821,946); Marcos (12,372,118); Recto (11,640,679) and Sotto (11,160,077).

"Whereas, the remaining uncanvassed Certificates of Canvass will not materially-affect the votes obtained by the aforesaid candidates… therefore, by virtue of the powers vested by the Constitution, the Omnibus Election Code and other election laws, the Comelec, sitting en banc as the National Board of Canvassers, proclaim the first nine out of 12 winning candidates as duly elected senators of the Republic of the Philippines in the first nationwide automated elections held on May 10, 2010," said NBC Resolution 10-003, which was read by Comelec Chairman Jose Melo.

Only Revilla, Estrada, Cayetano, Enrile, Recto and Sotto personally received their certificates of proclamation.

Defensor-Santiago failed to make the event after reportedly got stuck in traffic in Tagaytay City while Marcos had a prior medical appointment.

No one could give a reason why Drilon did not attend his proclamation.

Revilla will be serving his second term as senator. He was first elected to the senate in the 2004 polls, where he then placed second.

It is also Estrada's second straight term as senator while Defensor-Santiago will be serving her third term in the Senate. She was elected in 1995 to 2001 and 2004 to 2010.

Drilon, who was elected as Senate President in 2001 to 2006, will be his fourth time after serving in 1987 to 1992 and again from 1995 to 2007.

Enrile is also entering his fourth Senate term after serving in 1987 to 1992, 1995 to 2001 and from 2004 up to now.

Cayetano will be entering her second straight term as senator after she had served from 2004 to present while Marcos will be serving his first 6-term in the senate.

Recto will be serving his second term as he had served from 2001 to 2007. He lost his first re-election bid in 2007.

Also returning to the Senate is Sotto, who is now entering his third term, as he had served in the Senate from 1992 to 2004. He ran but lost in the 2007 midterm polls.

The newly proclaimed senators will join the incumbent senators whose term of office will end on June 30, 2013. They are Juan Miguel Zubiri, Manny Villar, Antonio Trillanes IV, Francis Pangilinan, Loren Legarda, Panfilo Lacson, Gregorio Honasan, Francis Escudero, Alan Peter Cayetano, Joker Arroyo, and Edgardo Angara. (PNA)



Comments are closed.