Comelec to proclaim 8 senators Saturday

May 14, 2010 8:04 pm 

MANILA, May 14 – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) will proclaim the eight winning senatorial candidates on Saturday (May 15).

Comelec Chairman Jose Melo said they decided to proclaim the eight senators since their scores would not be affected by the remaining votes that have yet to be canvassed.

The proclamation will be held Saturday afternoon at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay City, where the Comelec en banc is sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBCO) for the May 10 polls.

As of 11 a.m. Friday, the leading senatorial candidates are Ramon “Bong” Revilla (Lakas-Kampi CMD) with 15,064,835; Jingggoy Estrada (PMP) with 14,598,398; Miriam Defensor Santiago (PRP), 13,335,800; Franklin Drilon (LP), 12,375,507.

Completing the top eight winners are Juan Ponce Enrile (PMP) 12,187,170; Pilar Juliana Cayetano (NP) 10,631,671; Ferdinand Marcos Jr. (NP), 10,050,605 and Ralph Recto (LP), 9,814,356.

Meanwhile, Commissioner Gregorio Larrazabal said that this is the fastest in history — less than a week after the elections — that the Comelec will proclaim the winning senators. (PNA)



Comments are closed.