PGMA to attend One Town One Product Congress

March 11, 2010 10:40 pm 

MANILA, March 11 — President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo will attend tomorrow the 2010 National One Town One Product (OTOP) Congress at the Philippine Trade Training Center (PTTC) in Roxas Boulevard. The 12 awardees will come from three categories: Outstanding OTOP micro small and medium enterprises (MSME), best OTOP implementer, and the most supportive partner organization.

Created during the Arroyo administration,. OTOP is a priority program aimed at promoting entrepreneurship and creating jobs. Through OTOP, local chief executives of each city and municipality take the lead in identifying, developing, and promoting a specific product or service which has a competitive advantage.

The 2004-2010 Medium-Term Philippine Development Plan (MTPDP) outlines the dual strategies of product development through OTOP-Philippines and credit provision through SME Unified Lending Opportunities for National Growth (SULONG) to support three million entrepreneurs and to generate between six million an 10 million jobs.

The Outstanding OTOP MSMEs are Bagong Barrio Multi Purpose Cooperative of Pandi, Bulacan for specialized garment which won the Luzon and national awards; Ai She Footwear of Liliw, Laguna, Region IV-A as Luzon winner; Iloilo Kawayan of Maasin, Iloilo for bamboo chopsticks, toothpicks, barbecue sticks and traditional bamboo products for Visayas; and Lao Integrated Farm of Bansalan, Davao del Sur for Region 11 for its coco sugar and coco honey as Mindanao winner.

For Best OTOP Implementer, the winners are the city government of Balanga, Bataan (Region 3) for Luzon; the provincial government of La Union (Region 1) for Luzon; the municipality of Numancia, Aklan of Region 6, Visayas and national winner; and the municipality of Quirino, Sultan Kudarat, Mindanao winner.

The 2010 Most Supportive Partner Organization winners are: the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Region 3, Luzon winner; San Pablo Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Region IV-A for Luzon winner; Negros Oriental Investment Promotion Center, Region 7 for Visayas; and the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Zamboanga del Norte Provincial Office, Mindanao winner and national winner.

The President will be received by outgoing Trade and Industry Secretary Peter Favila, PTTC Executive Director Adelaida Inton, Pasay City Mayor Wenceslao Trinidad, and Pasay City Rep. Antonio Roxas. (PNA)



One Response to “PGMA to attend One Town One Product Congress”

  1. Watch Numancia v Huesca Live | Watch Live Football TV on March 13th, 2010 1:01 am

    […] March 2010, 14:27PGMA to attend One Town One Product Congress – Balita NewsMANILA, March 11 — President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo will attend tomorrow the 2010 National One […]