Nine schools to bag over P300,000 for environmental efforts

November 17, 2009 3:27 pm 

MANILA, Nov. 17 -– Department of Environment and Natural Resources-Environmental Management Bureau (DENR-EMB) will spearhead Thursday awarding of P360,000 to nine national winners of the 2009 search for the country’s most sustainable and eco-friendly schools.

This amount will cover the first, second and third prizes for winners in the elementary, high school and college levels.

”For each level, prizes will be P50,000 for the first placer, P40,000 for the second placer and P30,000 for the third placer,” said environmental specialist Verna Bondoc from DENR-EMB’s information unit.

She said all nine winners will also receive plaques of recognition for respective efforts to help protect the environment and to teach children about importance of doing so.

For the elementary level, she said two of the winning schools are located in Luzon while one is in Mindanao.

Secondary level winners are from Luzon, the Visayas and Mindanao, she continued.

She also said two winners in the college level are located in Luzon while another operates in the Visayas.

Authorities will announce the winners’ names during the awarding ceremony at SM North EDSA in Quezon City.

The awarding will be among the activities highlighting National Environmental Awareness Month pursuant further to the Environmental Awareness and Education Law (Republic Act 9512), DENR-EMB said.

DENR-EMB, Department of Education, Commission on Higher Education and mobile service provider Smart Communications organized the search to help raise public action on orienting children in environmental protection and sustainable development.

The search also highlights schools’ role in realizing this goal.

Proponents of this year’s search chose the national winners based on several criteria.

These criteria cover environment aspects of the school’s policy, environment-friendliness of its operations and existence of environmental programs, environment-related features of its curriculum, presence of active eco-organizations on campus as well as its partnership and linkages on environmental programs and projects.

DENR-EMB earlier said regional winners in the elementary level are North Central Elementary School (Dagupan City, Pangasinan); Peñablanca East Central School (Peñablanca, Cagayan); Baliwag North Central School (Baliwag, Bulacan); Manghinao Elementary School (Bauan, Batangas); P.Garcia Memorial Elementary School (Naujan, Oriental Mindoro); Sunshine International School (Legazpi City, Albay); Ara-al Elementary School (La Carlota, Negros Occidental); Asia Elementary School (Hinoba-an, Negros Occidental); Bantayan Central Elementary School (Bantayan Island, Cebu); Tongonan Kananga School for Excellence (Kananga, Leyte); Buenavista Elementary School (Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Norte); Marawer Elementary School (Kapatagan, Digos City, Davao del Sur); Cotabato City Central Pilot School (Cotabato City, Maguindanao); Badas Elementary School (Placer, Surigao del Norte) and Pembo Elementary School (Pembo, Makati City).

”For the high school level, the regional finalists are Don Bosco High School (Lagawe, Ifugao); Solsona National High School (Solsona, Ilocos Norte); Bukig National Agricultural and Technical School (Aparri, Cagayan); Alexis Santos High School (Bustos, Bulacan); Don Pedro Guevara High School (Sta. Cruz, Laguna); President Diosdado Macapagal Memorial National High School (Gloria, Oriental Mindoro); Camarines Sur National High School (Naga City, Camarines Sur); La Castellana National High School (La Castellana, Negros Occidental); Malingin National High School (Daan Bantayan, Cebu); San Policarpio National High School (Calbayog City, Samar); Sulangon National High School (Dapitan City, Zamboanga del Norte); Daniel Aguinaldo National High School (Davao City, Davao); Tampakan National High School (Tampakan, South Cotabato); Agusan National High School (Butuan City, Agusan del Norte) and Malabon National High School (Malabon City), DENR-EMB continued.

DENR-EMB also announced regional winners in the collegiate level are Benguet State University (La Trinidad, Benguet); Mariano Marcos State University (Batac, Ilocos Norte); St. Paul University of the Philippines (Tuguegarao City, Cagayan); Central Luzon State University (Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija); De La Salle University (Dasmariñas, Cavite); Palawan State University (Puerto Princesa City, Palawan); Catanduanes State Colleges (Virac, Catanduanes); West Negros University (Bacolod City, Negros Occidental); St. Paul University (Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental); Visayas State University (Baybay, Leyte); Davao Doctors College (Davao City, Davao) and Ateneo de Manila University, (Loyola Heights, Quezon City). (PNA)



Comments are closed.