PGMA formally signs two laws in Cebu

November 10, 2009 9:35 am 

LAPU-LAPU CITY, Nov. 10 — President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo formally signed today two laws, the first creating a congressional district in Lapu-lapu City and the second converting the Cebu State College of Science and Technology (CSCST) into a state university.

In a simple ceremonies held at the Most Important Persons (MIP) Lounge of Mactan Cebu International Airport this afternoon, Mrs. Arroyo presented a copy of R.A. 9726 to the officials of Cebu province and the city.

On hand for the occasion were Cebu Governor Gwendolyn Garcia; Lapu-lapu City Mayor Arturo Radaza; 6th District Rep. Nerissa Soon-Ruiz, author of House Bill 5007 (now R.A. 9726), and members of the city councils, and barangay leaders.

Also present were Cebu Representatives Raul Del Mar, Antonio Cuenco, Red Durano , John Garcia and Eduardo Gullas.

Through Republic Act 9744 (former House Bill 5641) the Cebu Technological University (CTU) was created out of the Cebu State College of Science and Technology (CSCST).

Now known as CTU, the learning institute provides professional and technical instructions in industrial trade, agriculture, fishery, forestry, aeronautics, arts and sciences, health sciences, and information technology, among other courses.

Its satellite campuses are the College of Fisheries in Moalboal; the Agro-Industrial and Fisheries in Argao; Polytechnic College in Tuburan; College of Fisheries in Daanbantayan; College of Industrial Technology in Danao City; College of Fisheries Technology in Carmen; and the Experimental Station in Sibonga. (PNA)



Comments are closed.