Russia launches two European satellites

November 1, 2009 10:58 pm 

MOSCOW, Nov. 2 — Russia has successfully launched two European scientific research satellites with a Rokot carrier rocket from the Plesetsk space center in northwest Russia early Monday, said a spokesman for the Russian Space Forces.

The carrier rocket blasted off with the SMOS and the Proba-2 satellites at 04:50 a.m. Moscow time (0150 GMT), said Aleksei Zolotukhin.

The SMOS (Soil Moisture and Ocean Salinity) is scheduled to enter its orbit at 06:00 a.m. Moscow time (0300 GMT), and the Proba-2 mini-satellite at 07:50 a.m. Moscow time (0450 GMT), he added. (PNA/Xinhua) LDV/utb

Comments

Comments are closed.