Construction of irrigation, farm-to-market road projects stepped up in Agusan del Sur

October 28, 2009 11:55 pm 

PATIN-AY, Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur, Oct. 29 – Construction of 12 irrigation projects and 22 farm-to-market road (FMR) projects went into high gear at various towns in this land-lock province of Northeastern Mindanao.

These big projects are located in the towns of Veruela, Sta. Josefa, Trento, Bunawan, Rosario, San Francisco, Prosperidad, Talacogon and La Paz.

These provinces mega projects are implemented through the Department of Agriculture (DA) funding downloaded to various implementing agencies such as National Irrigation System (NIA), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) as well as local government units (LGUs) of the province and municipal government.

Some of these big projects were also funded through the Mindanao Rural Development Program (MRDP).

Most of the projects are already in place however, some are delayed particularly in Dinagat Islands province and recommended to the concerned implementing agencies to strengthen coordination and monitoring for smooth project implementation.

DA RFU 13 Regional Technical Director Edgardo Dahino urged the implementing agencies to work double time in order to finish the project the earliest possible time.

A team from National Agricultural and Fisheries Council (NAFC) continuously conducted validation of hard infrastructure projects implemented in Caraga Region under the Department of Agriculture (DA) and its attached agencies.

The team visited various projects sites accompanied by some DA Regional Field Unit 13 (RFU 13) staff and its counterparts from provincial and municipal level together with provincial and municipal agricultural and fishery council (PAFC/MAFC) both in Dinagat Islands and Agusan del Sur, representative from Department of Public Works and Highways and National Irrigation Administration (NIA).

In the province of Dinagat Islands, the group validated hard infrastructure projects in the municipalities of Cagdianao, Dinagat, San Jose, Basilisa, Libjo and Tubajon with 11 irrigation projects and five FMRs which also include two municipalities in Agusan del Sur particularly Bayugan and Esperanza with one irrigation project and 10 FMR roads.(PNA) LDV/MUC/mec


Comments are closed.