Iloilo City gov't honors 21 barangays with best practices on solid waste management

July 15, 2009 9:15 am 

ILOILO CITY, July 15 – The city government today honored 21 barangays with best practices in terms of solid waste management.

Mayor Jerry P. Treñas said the 21 barangays, which represent more than 10 percent of the 180 barangays in the city, will serve as model barangays as far as management of solid waste is concerned.

The 21 barangays represent the top three clean and green barangays from the city’s seven districts.

They will again compete to become the cleanest and greenest barangay in the city in line with the "Search for the Cleanest and Greenest Barangay" initiated by the city government in partnership with the Iloilo City Hall Press Corps.

“We implemented this in support of the provisions of Republic Act 9003 or the Solid Waste Management Act of 2000. We want to localize its implementation and we are doing it through barangays to encourage them,” Treñas said.

The mayor added that the spirit of competition and rewards really encouraged barangays in the city to join and in the process implement the provisions of the law.

“We hope that this will also encourage other barangays to follow. What we are after here is to push barangays to come up with best practices that can be replicated in other barangays,” he added.

Those that were given recognition at the city mayor's office Wednesday were the villages of Dungon A, San Jose and Ma. Cristina in Jaro district; San Isidro, Jereos and Magsaysay Village in La Paz district; Mansaya, Progreso and Don Esteban in Lapuz district; Sto. Domingo, Sta. Cruz and Dulonan in Arevalo district; Monica-Blumentritt, Villa Anita and San Jose in the city proper; San Rafael, Bakhaw and PHHC Blk. 17 in Mandurriao district; and San Pedro, North Fundidor and North Baluarte in Molo district.

The 21 barangays will again be evaluated and the cleanest and greenest among them will receive a P30,000 cash prize and P500,000 worth of projects. The runners-up will receive P20,000 for the second and P15,000 for third place.

The ceremony was also attended by Interior and Local Government regional director Evelyn Trompeta and Environmental Management Bureau regional director Oscar Cabanayan. (PNA) LAP/PGLena/vlo


Comments are closed.