Palace recognizes law enforcers’ efforts in solving media killings

June 11, 2009 11:54 am 

MANILA, June 11 — Malacanang today honored law enforcers of Task Force 211 of the Department of Justice and Task Force Usig of the Philippine National Police (PNP) in recognition of their exceptional efforts to solve the series of media killings in the country.

Presided over by Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita and Press Secretary Cerge M. Remonde, the awards rites were held at the Premier Guest House of Malacanang.

The affair was attended and participated by officers of several media groups, including the National Press Club led by its president, Benny Antiporda, who delivered the program’s closing remarks.

Press Secretary Cerge M. Remonde who delivered a message during the rites, together with Executive Secretary Ermita, said Malacanang remains pro-active in addressing the issue of extra-judicial killing of journalists and will continue to uphold press freedom in the country.

The guests were welcomed by Justice Undersecretary Ricardo Blancaflor, Task Force 211 chairman.

Others who delivered messages were Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster sa Pilipinas president Herman Z. Basbano; Cagayan de Oro broadcaster Nilo Labares; and Elsa Orsolino and Teresita Padrigao, widows of slain mediamen Alberto Orsolino and Arecio Padrigao, respectively.

Honored and presented awards were Undersecretary Ian Norman E. Dato of the Office of the Presidential Political Adviser; Police Deputy Director General Jefferson P. Soriano, deputy chief of Task Forcer USIG; Chief Supt. Lina C. Sarmiento, director, Police Security and Protection Group; NBI-NCR Regional Director Edward Villarta;

Regional State Prosecutor Jaime Umpa of Region 10; DOJ Director Leo B. Decera, NBI Investigator Marlou Baltazar, Capiz Police Director Sr. Supt. Josephus G. Angan; PCI Jesus Kabigting, PAF Major Cesar B. Battad, Jr; State Prosecutor Hazel Decena-Valdez and DOJ State Counsel Arceli Ragsac. (PNA)



Comments are closed.