Cycling: Tour of Mindanao set on June 4-7

May 20, 2009 3:16 am 

By Lily O Ramos

MANILA, May 19 — The Race for Peace-First Tour of Mindanao reels off June 4 to June 7 with 12 teams vying for honors in the four-stage competition that will cover 682 kilometers of roads in the major island down south.

The Race for Peace-First Tour of Mindanao is the major island’s version of the highly-successful Liquigaz Tour of Luzon (Northern Philippines) and the Padyak Pinoy 2009-Tour of Champions, both of which were also sanctioned by the PhilCycling.

The first stage is a 153-km grind from Davao City to General Santos City, the second stage (159 kms) will be from General Santos to Koronadal City, the third stage (130 kms) will be from Koronadal to Cotabato City and the fourth stage (240 kms) will be from Cotabato City back to Davao City.

The squads will each be composed of six riders, all of whom will be racing under the theme "One Track, One Dream, One vision!''

The event is sanctioned by the UCI-recognized PhilCycling headed by Tagaytay City Mayor Abraham “Bambo” Tolentino.

It will be supervised by Philcycling vice president for Mindanao Salvador "Jun” Paholio Jr.

The event is co-organized by the Radio Mindanao Network and the Samahang Siklista Kooperatiba ng Davao. (PNA)



Comments are closed.